Make Happen

Institution Profile

Find out more

Welcome to Make Happen

We unlock opportunities for young people across Essex by helping them make informed choices about their education and future.

We’re part of the Office for Students’ Uni Connect programme, which brings together universities, colleges and local partners to deliver outreach programmes to young people in years 9 to 13, with a particular focus on areas where participation in higher education is lower than might be expected, given the GCSE results of the young people who live there.

Working with our partnership schools and colleges across Essex, by 2020 we’d worked with 75,647 students through all kinds of activities including events, workshops and tours.

“The most important event for me was attending an open day at a university… I took my Mum and it really changed her mind about me going to university, what funding would be available, and how a degree could really improve my future.”

Niamh, Make Happen event participant.

In 2021 we’re continuing to deliver a varied programme of activities to the same partner schools and colleges – with all of our work being supported by continuous evaluation of our programme’s effectiveness.

Make Happen Resources

Take a look at our news, events and basic guides– and view our brochure. Please get in touch if you’d like to find out more – we also produce newsletters each month for students, teachers, and parents, guardians and carers, so subscribe now to receive one!




Find out more

Events without a specific start date

Apprenticeships
at any location
Campus visits
at University
Careers
at any location
Financial education
at any location
Interviews
at any location
Personal statements
at any location
Post-16 options
at any location
Student Finance
at any location
Study skills
at any location
Transferable skills
at any location
University life
at any location

Forthcoming Events

An introduction to UCAS
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Student Finance explained
Thursday, September 30, 2021
An introduction to UCAS
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Student Finance explained
Thursday, October 28, 2021
An introduction to UCAS
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Student Finance explained
Thursday, November 25, 2021
An introduction to UCAS
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Student Finance explained
Thursday, December 16, 2021
An introduction to UCAS
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Student Finance explained
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Student Finance explained
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Student Finance explained
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Student Finance explained
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Writing your Personal Statement
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Student Finance explained
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Student Finance explained
Tuesday, June 28, 2022
 
Career Development Institute
Careers England
 
The Education Resources Awards
 
Best use of Tech in Career Development
Shell LiveWIRE Winner
 
Cookie Policy    X